Latest Gists In Nigeria-Entertainment And Stories

15 Jun 2017

Record Breaker:Chimamanda Adichie Receives The Mary McCarthy Award In New York


Nigerian author and feminist Chimamanda Adichie has been awarded the revered Mary
McCarthy Award for her work as a writer and prominent public awareness on social issues.

She became the first Nigerian to receive the prestigious award at an event that held at Bard
College, New York recently.

The McCarthy award which is named after famous novelist Mary McCarthy who taught at
Bard College for a year, is given in acknowledgement of engagement in the public
sphere by an intellectual, artist, or writer. Some
other notable recipients of the award are Margaret Atwood (the author of The
Handmaid’s Tale), Zadie Smith, Mona Simpson, and Susan Sontag.

The Mary McCarthy Prize in short fiction includes a $2,000 cash award, publication of a
collection of short stories or novella and a standard royalty contract.


No comments:

Post a Comment

Drop A Comment